LibGuides: Research Guides: Research Homepage

The Research Process

The Middle School Research Process

	Step 1: EXPLORE Explore interesting topics Keep your mind open Build background knowledge
	Step 2: IDENTIFY Pause and ponder Decide research topic Identify inquiry questions
	Step 3: GATHER Gather important information Go broad (search) Go deep (read)
	Step 4: CREATE Integrate facts with prior knowledge Create to communicate Cite your sources
	Step 5: SHARE Share your knowledge Learn from each other
	Step 6: EVALUATE Evaluate the achievement of learning goals Reflect on content learned Reflect on process

What Are Databases and Why Do You Need Them?

What is research?

Terms to Know

Bibliography
A list of the sources you used for your research. (Synonyms: source list, references, works cited, citation page)

Citation
A formatted listing of an information source that tells who created it and when and where it was created. There are a variety of citation styles, and we use the MLA (Modern Language Association) stylebook.

Database
An organized collection of information (ex.: articles and images on a particular subject) that is used for research.

ISBN
A unique 13-digit number assigned to published book, audiobook, ebook, and DVD.

Lateral Reading

A strategy to evaluate an information source by checking what others say about the original source and its claims.

Periodical
Journal, magazine or newspaper

Plagiarism
Presenting someone else's work as your own; copying.

General Databases

Oak Hill Middle School Full Suite of Databases

Newton Free Library Databases

Through the Newton Free Library, you have access to many more databases. Use your public library card to access these databases at school and at home.

Newton Free Library A to Z Database List