1. Search general topics before moving on to more specific topics to build background knowledge.
2. Use Chrome, which allows you to split open tabs in multiple screens when taking notes on websites/databases.
3. Use the table of contents and the index in books to quickly locate information.
4. Use Command + F (or Control + F on a Chromebook) to search for a word on a website. This is similar to using an index in a book.
Annotate : add notes to give an explanation or comment
Boolean Operator : Terms used to help broaden or narrow a search in a database. They are AND, OR and NOT.
Curate : to collect, select and present information or items such as pictures, videos, music, etc. using expert knowledge
Database : a collection of information that is organized so that it can be easily accessed, managed and updated. Information found in databases is vetted and reliable.
Keyword : the most important words used to explain a concept
Reliable : consistently good in quality or performance; able to be trusted
Search Engine : a computer program used to search the Internet for documents that contain certain keywords or phrases
Synonym : a word or phrase that means the same thing, or nearly the same thing, as another word or phrase
Vet: make careful or critical examination of something
Preliminary Research / Flash Research
These websites have short blurbs of information about various topics relating to ancient Rome.
They are good for exploring, sparking thinking, and finding topics of interest. These sites will help you to continue to build your background knowledge.
Background knowledge is the glue that helps learning stick!
Ancient Rome Sites
Ancient Rome Ancient Rome and Italy from the Etruscans to the fall of Rome.
Rome: Republic to Empire Includes historical, civilization and cultural topics.
Ancient Rome for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links about Ancient Rome’s daily life, schooling, people, geography and many more with a click away.
Livius.org Explore information about the Roman Empire by clicking on the blue tabs.
PBS: The Roman Empire PBS series showcasing some of the most intriguing and historically significant people, places, and events from first century Rome.
Resisting Slavery in Ancient Rome - BBC
The Secrets of Ancient Rome’s Buildings - Smithsonian.com
The Gladiators of Rome - Ancient Origins
During Step 2, Identify, you will begin to create a strategy for finding information.
To begin, you will choose a topic and then identify researchable questions. You should have both open (bottom of the iceberg) and closed (top of the iceberg) questions. You will use these questions to guide your research. Add your research questions to the Questions section of your packet.
Ancient History Encyclopedia The world's most- read history encyclopedia. Search by keywords, timelines, maps and more.
Ancient Rome Ancient Rome and Italy from the Etruscans to the fall of Rome.
Roman Emperors Alphabetical list of Roman emperors. Click a name to learn about that emperor.
Rome: Republic to Empire Includes historical, civilization and cultural topics.
Ancient Rome for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links about Ancient Rome’s daily life, schooling, people, geography and many more with a click away.
Livius.org Explore information about the Roman Empire by clicking on the blue tabs.
PBS: The Roman Empire PBS series showcasing some of the most intriguing and historically significant people, places, and events from first century Rome.
Resisting Slavery in Ancient Rome - BBC
The Secrets of Ancient Rome’s Buildings - Smithsonian.com
Digital Project Tools
Canva
WeVideo
Google Slides
|
F.A. Day Middle School Library |
