Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

F.A. Day Library: Egypt Research

What is research?

Research Terms

Annotate : add notes to give an explanation or comment

Boolean Operator : Terms used to help broaden or narrow a search in a database. They are AND, OR and NOT.

Curate : to collect, select and present information or items such as pictures, videos, music, etc. using expert knowledge

Database a collection of information that is organized so that it can be easily accessed, managed and updated. Information found in databases is vetted and reliable. 

Keyword : the most important words used to explain a concept

Reliableconsistently good in quality or performance; able to be trusted

Search Engine : a computer program used to search the Internet for documents that contain certain keywords or phrases

 

Synonym : a word or phrase that means the same thing, or nearly the same thing, as another word or phrase

 

Vet: make careful or critical examination of something

 

STEP 1 : EXPLORE

Step One Explore. Explore Interesting topics. Keep your mind open. Build background knowledge.

Preliminary Research / Flash Research

These websites have short blurbs of information about various topics relating to ancient Egypt.

They are good for exploring, sparking thinking, and finding topics of interest. These sites will help you to continue to build your background knowledge.

Background knowledge is the glue that helps learning stick!

 

Mr. Donn Egypt : Links to information in all aspects of ancient Egypt including daily life, religions, government, myths and more. 

DK Find Out- Ancient Egypt for Kids : Use the interactive map to navigate the site and find out information about "the most stable civilization in human history". 

Smithsonian Institute Ancient Egypt : Images of artifacts such as mummified animals, shrines, amulets, figurines, mummy masks

Ancient History Encyclopedia : The world's most- read history encyclopedia. Search by keywords, timelines, maps and more. 

Penn Museum Exhibitions : Find the civilization you are interested under the Exhibitions tab. 

The Ancient Web : Read profiles of cultures across the continents. 

Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery for Kids :  Search using the keywords "Ancient Civilizations" or by a specific civilization. 

Day Library Ancient Egypt Books : A list of the books on Ancient Egypt found in Day Library's collection. 

Ancient Egypt for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links that are about Ancient Egypt’s geography, schools, games, and many more with a click away.

Ancient Egypt for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links that are about Ancient Egypt’s geography, schools, games, and many more with a click away.

Ancient Egypt Online Learn about the important aspects of Ancient Egyptian history and culture by exploring this website.

The Ancient Egypt Site Explore the history, language and culture of Ancient Egypt in this website created by Egyptologist Jacques Kinnaer.

BBC: Ancient Egypt Explore the wonders of Ancient Egypt by looking at this helpful website provided by the BBC.

PBS: Ancient Egypt Discover all aspects of Ancient Egypt by exploring this website provided by PBS.

Ancient Egypt - History.com

Ancient Egypt - Khan Academy

Discovering Egypt

Discovering Egypt

Usborne Quick Links for Ancient Egypt (numerous topics and website links)
History on the Net - Ancient Egyptians (house, food, clothing, hieroglyphs, mummification, numerals)

 

 

STEP 2 : IDENTIFY

Step two Identify. Pause and ponder. Decide research topic. Identify inquiry questions.

You will identify researchable questions with your teacher. You should have both open and closed questions. You will use these questions to guide your research. 

TAKING NOTES

Learn more about taking notes with these Brainpop videos. Click here for login information. 

Note- Taking Skills                              Paraphrasing                          Plagiarism
Brainpop on note taking skills Brainpop on paraphrasing Brainpop on plagiarism

 

STEP 3 : GATHER

Daily Life General

BBC: Ancient Egyptians Daily Life: Health hazards + cures, careers for women, private lives of pyramid builders

Daily Life in Egypt - AHE

History on the Net - Ancient Egyptians (house, food, clothing, hieroglyphs, mummification, numerals)

Ancient Egyptian Culture - AHE

 

The Ancient Egypt Site Explore the history, language and culture of Ancient Egypt in this website created by Egyptologist Jacques Kinnaer.

Ancient Egypt for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links that are about Ancient Egypt’s geography, schools, games, and many more with a click away.

Children

Childhood in Ancient Egypt from Royal Ontario Museum

Article on Children from Mr. Donn

Growing Up in Ancient Egypt from Michigan State

Childhood in Ancient Egypt from University College London

More on Childhood in Ancient Egypt

Childhood in Ancient Egypt

 

Food

Food and Drink

Food - Canadian Museum

Food for the Afterlife - The British Museum

 

Fashion

Cosmetics, Perfumes, and Hygiene in Egypt - AHE

Fashion and Dress in Ancient Egypt - AHE

Clothing and Adornment

Clothing

How ancient Egyptian cosmetics influenced our beauty rituals

Egyptian Makeup

How Ancient Egypt Shaped Our Idea of Beauty

Ancient Egyptian Makeup Tutorial Video

Video: Makeup in Ancient Egypt

 

 

Gender and sexuality

Women in Ancient Egypt - AHE

Women’s Roles

Women in Egypt - NewsELA

A Woman’s Afterlife - Gender Transformation (Brooklyn Museum)

From Warrior Women to Female Pharaohs: Careers for Women in Ancient Egypt - BBC

The Truth Behind Female Pharaohs and Their Power - National Geographic

 


 

Entertainment

Game of Senet - Museum of Science (Click view on the Wayback Machine)

https://www.metmuseum.org/blogs/metkids/2017/ancient-egypt-board-games

https://www.ancient.eu/article/1036/games-sports--recreation-in-ancient-egypt/

http://healthy.uwaterloo.ca/museum/VirtualExhibits/Ancient/Senet/index.html

Entertainment and Games

Sports and Entertainment  

 

Cats

Overview of Cats in the Ancient World- AHE

Cats in the Ancient World - AHE

Cats Rule in Ancient Egypt - National Geographic Kids

Archaeologists Discovered Dozens of cat Mummies - The Washington Post

Why the Ancient Egyptians Loved their Kitties - Smithsonian.com

Herodotus on Cats - Primary Source from AHE

Ancient Egypt Online- Cats in Ancient Egypt

Cats in Ancient Egypt Didn't Look the Way You'd Think- Forbes

 

Pets in Ancient Egypt

Pets in Ancient Egypt- AHE

Tomb Robbing

How Tomb Raiders are stealing our history - National Geographic

How Ancient Grave-Robbers Plundered Egypt - Science Unearthed Video (3 mins)

Tomb Robbers in Ancient Egypt - Ancient Egypt Online

Grave Goods in Egypt - AHE

Tomb Robbing - AHE

 

Modern Tomb Robbers

Space Archaeologists Show Spike in Looting at Egypt’s Ancient Sites - Live Science Ancient
 

Cities

Ancient Egypt Cities

Cities and Regions of Ancient Egypt

Town Planning

Remains of Egyptian City Unearthed - Live Science

Memphis, Ancient Egypt - AHE

Memphis - Britannica

Thebes - AHE‚Äč

 
 

Gods and Goddesses + Mythology

Egyptian Gods: The Complete List - AHE

Egypt Religion - AHE

Religion and Gods in Ancient Egypt - Australian Museum

Meet the Egyptian Gods - Rick Riordan

Gods and Goddesses - The British Museum

Egyptian Mythology - AHE

The Creation Myth - Canadian Museum of History

Anubis - AHE

10 Mythical Creatures

 

Apis- AHE

Apis- Encyclopaedia Brittanica

Bull Cults in Ancient Egypt-Ancient Egypt Online
 

Afterlife

The Underworld and Death in Egypt - Australian Museum

Afterlife and the Featherer of Truth - AHE

Book of the Dead - AHE

Book of the Dead - Britannica

Hunefer, Book of the Dead - Khan Academy

TedEd Video - The Egyptian Book of the Dead (4:30 mins)


 

Ba + Ka

The Soul in Ancient Egypt - AHE

The Soul in Ancient Egypt - The Fitzwilliam Museum

 

Amulets

Amulets - MET

The Egyptian Amulet - AHE

Egyptian Amulets

 

Mummification

Ancient Egypt Science and Technology - Museum of Science (Info. about mummification and modern CT imaging of mummies) CLICK BLUE WAYBACK MACHINE BUTTON FOR ACCESS

Egyptian Mummification - Smithsonian Institute (Good info to read and lots of images of mummy masks)

Animal Mummies in Egypt - Australian Museum

Scientists Reveal Inside Story of Animal Mummies - History.com

Virtual autopsy of natural mummy - Khan Academy

 

Tombs

Egyptian Tombs - The MET

National Geographic - King Tut’s Tomb

Tombs in Ancient Egypt - Australian Museum

National Geographic - Ancient Egypt (news, videos, images - very visual, lots about discovery of tombs)

Tomb Paintings from the tomb-chapel of Nebamun - Khan Academy

5 Great Mummy Discoveries - History.com (Ramses II, Tut, Hatshepsut included)

Ramses II; The Mummy Who Had to Get a Passport

 


 

Magic

Egyptian magic - Rick Riordan

Ancient Egypt Magic - BBC

Magic in Egypt - AHE

Heka - AHE

Ancient Egyptian Magic Spell Deciphered - Live Science

 

Ankh

The Ankh

Ankh, Egyptian Symbol of Life

Video: The Ankh, the Djed and other Ancient Egyptian Symbols and their Meanings

The Ankh

Royal Symbols

Libation Dish Presenting an Ankh Sign

The Ankh Symbol

 

Need more sites?
Fill out your name, topic and the question you are struggling to find more information about on this document and teachers will try to procure more helpful sites for you. 

 

General Art

Color in Ancient Egypt - AHE

A Brief History of Egyptian Art - AHE

Art in Ancient Egypt - Australian Museum

The Sculptor in Ancient Egypt - Australian Museum

The Painter in Ancient Egypt - Australian Museum

Artisans of Ancient Egypt - Australian Museum   

Egyptian Art - Khan Academy

Akhenaten and the Armana Period - BBC

Akhenaten and Armana Art - AHE

 

Monuments

Abu-Simbel

Encyclopedia Brittanica

Britannica

Live Science

Egyptian Museum

Pyramids

Pyramid Construction - Smithsonian Institute (Good info and lots of images of pyramids)

Nova - Ancient Egypt (Interactive that explores the Great Pyramids of Giza, and Karnak and Luxor Temples)

The Private Lives of Pyramid Builders - BBC

Pyramids - History.com

Pyramid - AHE

PBS: The Pyramids Learn all about the Pyramids by exploring this helpful website.

 

Step Pyramids

The Step Pyramid of Djoser

Stunning Photos Inside the Pyramid of Djoser

Egypt reopens its oldest pyramid after 14-year restoration

Old Kingdom Monuments: Step Pyramid

 

Luxor Temple

https://www.wmf.org/project/luxor-temple

https://www.lonelyplanet.com/egypt/luxor/attractions/luxor-temple/a/poi-sig/1136321/355253

https://www.britannica.com/place/Luxor#ref643948

https://egyptianmuseum.org/explore/new-kingdom-monuments-luxor-temple

https://www.memphis.edu/egypt/resources/colortour/luxor4.php

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/ancient/egyptians/top_ten_gallery_10.shtml

 

 

Sphinx

Sphinx - History.com

Sphinx - AHE

The Great Sphinx of Giza - AHE

Uncovering Secrets of the Sphinx - Smithsonian

 

 

 

 

Music and Dancing

Music and dance in Ancient Egypt - AHE

Ancient Egyptian Music

 

Sculpture

Egyptian Sculpture

Materials and Techniques

Principles of Egyptian Art - scroll down to Statue section

The Art of Ancient Egypt Guide from the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Ever Wonder Why Egyptian Sculptures Are Missing Their Noses?

Artisans

The Sculptor in Ancient Egypt - Australian Museum

The Painter in Ancient Egypt - Australian Museum

Artisans of Ancient Egypt - Australian Museum   

A Day in the Life of a Craftsman - PBS

An Artisan’s Tomb

Trade and Crafts

The Secrets of Ancient Egyptian Artisans

Online textbook chapter 9 - section on artisans

 

Need more sites?
Fill out your name, topic and the question you are struggling to find more information about on this document and teachers will try to procure more helpful sites for you. 

General Technology

Egypt Science and Technology - AHE

Egyptian Architecture - AHE

Inventions - Discovering Egypt

Inventions and Technology

 

Telling Time

Telling Time - MET

Egypt Calendar System - Britannica

Ancient Time Keeping - AHE

The Egyptian Calendar - Ancient Egypt Online

 

Math + Number System

Egyptian Mathematics - Discovering Egypt

The Egyptian Number System - Children’s Museum of Manchester

Rhind Mathematical Papyrus - BBC Podcast (can listen or read transcript)

Mathematics in Ancient Egypt - Britannica

Math’s Oldest Puzzles - NYT article

Ancient History Math Mystery - Penn Museum

 

Science

Astronomy - Canadian Museum of History

Astronomy Can Help Us Understand How Egyptians Built the Pyramids - Independent

Astronomy - Eternal Egypt

 

Medicine

Egyptian Medicine - Ancient History Encyclopedia

Egyptian Medical Texts - Ancient History Encyclopedia

Female Physicians in Egypt - Ancient History Encyclopedia

Health Hazards and Cures in Ancient Egypt - BBC


 

Boats and Transportation

Egyptian Boats - DK Find Out

Boats and Transportation

Egyptian Ships - Mariners’ Museum

Transportation - Canadian Museum of History

Ships and Boats

 

Papyrus

https://www.ancient.eu/Egyptian_Papyrus/

https://egypt.mrdonn.org/papyrus.html

https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/papy/hd_papy.htm

https://www.lib.umich.edu/papyrology-collection/how-ancient-papyrus-was-made

https://science.howstuffworks.com/innovation/inventions/5-amazing-ancient-egyptian-inventions3.htm

https://sites.dartmouth.edu/ancientbooks/2016/05/23/67/

https://www.brooklynmuseum.org/community/blogosphere/2010/06/23/papyrus-secret-of-the-egyptians/

https://science.howstuffworks.com/innovation/inventions/5-amazing-ancient-egyptian-inventions3.htm

 

Need more sites?
Fill out your name, topic and the question you are struggling to find more information about on this document and teachers will try to procure more helpful sites for you. 
 

General History & Writing

800 Tombs Discovered - Newsweek

Mummies Discovered Near Much Older Pyramid - National Geographic

Thames Valley Ancient Egypt Society (links to news articles about discoveries in Egyptology)

The Ancient Egypt Site Explore the history, language and culture of Ancient Egypt in this website created by Egyptologist Jacques Kinnaer.

Hieroglyphics

The Decipherment of Hieroglyphics - BBC

Egyptian Hieroglyphs - AHE

The Scribe and Hieroglyphics - Australian Museum

The Rosetta Stone - Khan Academy

History Uncovered in Conserving Rosetta Stone - Khan Academy

 

Mummy’s Curse

The Mummy’s Curse; Tut’s Tomb and Modern Media -AHE

Where does the legend of the mummy come from? - BBC

Is the curse of King Tut real? History.com

 

Need more sites?
Fill out your name, topic and the question you are struggling to find more information about on this document and teachers will try to procure more helpful sites for you. 

 

 

List of Rulers in Egypt - The MET

Searching for a Specific Pharaoh (Hatshepsut, Ramses II, etc.)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/historic_figures/

ancient.edu search

https://www.ducksters.com/history/ancient_egyptian_pharaohs.php

use databases (Britannica and In Context)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/ancient/egyptians/ (click on pharaohs and dynasties)

 

Laws and Legal System

Ancient Egyptian Law - AHE

Ancient Egyptian Government - AHE

 

 

War

Weapons in Egypt - AHE

Ancient Egyptian Royalty Wielded Serious Weapons - Live Science

Army and Soldiers

Egyptian Warfare - AHE

Egyptian Soldiers - PBS

Egyptian Warriors - DK Find Out

Ancient Egypt Warfare - The Ancient World

 

Greece in Egypt

basically for this you’re looking at rule from Alexander the Great to Cleopatra

good overview of greeks and romans in egypt (after persians): https://school.eb.com/levels/middle/article/ancient-Egypt/274132#199998.toc

https://www.ancient.eu/Ptolemaic_Dynasty/

https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/ptol/hd_ptol.htm

https://www.cemml.colostate.edu/cultural/09476/egypt02-07enl.html (Ptolemaic = Greek rule)

 

Rome in Egypt

Roman Egypt - Ancient History Encyclopedia

Roman Egypt - The MET

https://www.cemml.colostate.edu/cultural/09476/egypt02-07enl.html

Roman-Egyptian Mummy - The Getty (mummy of Herakleides)

What happened to the great Library at Alexandria? - AHE

Cleopatra and Mark Antony - AHE

Augustus - AHE

Alexandria Egypt - AHE (Go to Roman Alexandria)

Women Leaders

https://www.ancient.eu/article/1040/great-female-rulers-of-ancient-egypt/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZgTCRNaJtqo

https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-queen-who-would-be-king-130328511/

https://time.com/5425216/ancient-egypt-women-in-power-today/

Unearthing Hatshepsut, Egypt's Most Powerful Female Pharaoh

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/ancient/egyptians/women_01.shtml

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=11464869

 

 

 

Need more sites?
Fill out your name, topic and the question you are struggling to find more information about on this document and teachers will try to procure more helpful sites for you. 

 

Jews in Egypt

Israelites, Hebrew

Brooklyn Museum - Jewish Life in Ancient Egypt

Elephantine Jews in Ancient Egypt (5th century BCE)

Ancient Israel - Ancient History Encyclopedia

Early Judaism - Ancient History Encyclopedia

 

Slavery

 

Slaves (Mr. Donn)

Social Class in general (some good info in here about slaves)

Great Pyramid tombs unearth 'proof' workers were not slaves

Online textbook chapter 9

Jobs for Slaves

 

Need more sites?
Fill out your name, topic and the question you are struggling to find more information about on this document and teachers will try to procure more helpful sites for you. 

F.A. Day Middle School Library
21 Minot Pl., Newton, MA 02460 / 617-559-9139