Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

F.A. Day Library: Ancient Greece and Rome Research

Research Tips

1. Search general topics before moving on to more specific topics to build background knowledge.

2. Use Chrome, which allows you to split open tabs in multiple screens when taking notes on websites/databases. 

3. Use the table of contents and the index in books to quickly locate information. 

4. Use Command + F (or Control + F on a Chromebook) to search for a word on a website. This is similar to using an index in a book. 

 

6 Step Research Process

Day Six Step Research Process

Research Terms

Annotate : add notes to give an explanation or comment

Boolean Operator : Terms used to help broaden or narrow a search in a database. They are AND, OR and NOT.

Curate : to collect, select and present information or items such as pictures, videos, music, etc. using expert knowledge

Database a collection of information that is organized so that it can be easily accessed, managed and updated. Information found in databases is vetted and reliable. 

Keyword : the most important words used to explain a concept

Reliableconsistently good in quality or performance; able to be trusted

Search Engine : a computer program used to search the Internet for documents that contain certain keywords or phrases

 

Synonym : a word or phrase that means the same thing, or nearly the same thing, as another word or phrase

 

Vet: make careful or critical examination of something

 

Step 1 : EXPLORE

Step One Explore. Explore Interesting topics. Keep your mind open. Build background knowledge.

Preliminary Research / Flash Research

These websites have short blurbs of information about various topics relating to ancient civilizations.

They are good for exploring, sparking thinking, and finding topics of interest. These sites will help you to continue to build your background knowledge.

Background knowledge is the glue that helps learning stick!

Ancient History Encyclopedia The world's most- read history encyclopedia. Search by keywords, timelines, maps and more. 

Penn Museum Exhibitions Find the civilization you are interested under the Exhibitions tab. 

The Ancient Web Read profiles of cultures across the continents. 

Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery for Kids Search using the keywords "Ancient Civilizations" or by a specific civilization. 

History for Kids Has information on several civilizations

Step One Explore. Explore Interesting topics. Keep your mind open. Build background knowledge.

Preliminary Research / Flash Research

These websites have short blurbs of information about various topics relating to ancient Egypt.

They are good for exploring, sparking thinking, and finding topics of interest. These sites will help you to continue to build your background knowledge.

Background knowledge is the glue that helps learning stick!

 

Mr. Donn Egypt : Links to information in all aspects of ancient Egypt including daily life, religions, government, myths and more. 

 

DK Find Out- Ancient Egypt for Kids : Use the interactive map to navigate the site and find out information about "the most stable civilization in human history". 

 

Smithsonian Institute Ancient Egypt : Images of artifacts such as mummified animals, shrines, amulets, figurines, mummy masks

Ancient History Encyclopedia : The world's most- read history encyclopedia. Search by keywords, timelines, maps and more. 

Penn Museum Exhibitions : Find the civilization you are interested under the Exhibitions tab. 

The Ancient Web : Read profiles of cultures across the continents. 

Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery for Kids :  Search using the keywords "Ancient Civilizations" or by a specific civilization. 

Day Library Ancient Egypt Books : A list of the books on Ancient Egypt found in Day Library's collection. 

Ancient Egypt for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links that are about Ancient Egypt’s geography, schools, games, and many more with a click away.

Ancient Egypt for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links that are about Ancient Egypt’s geography, schools, games, and many more with a click away.

Ancient Egypt Online Learn about the important aspects of Ancient Egyptian history and culture by exploring this website.

The Ancient Egypt Site Explore the history, language and culture of Ancient Egypt in this website created by Egyptologist Jacques Kinnaer.

BBC: Ancient Egypt Explore the wonders of Ancient Egypt by looking at this helpful website provided by the BBC.

 

PBS: Ancient Egypt Discover all aspects of Ancient Egypt by exploring this website provided by PBS.

 

Ancient Egypt - History.com

Ancient Egypt - Khan Academy

Discovering Egypt

Discovering Egypt

National Geographic - Ancient Egypt (news, videos, images - very visual, lots about discovery of tombs)

 

Usborne Quick Links for Ancient Egypt (numerous topics and website links)
History on the Net - Ancient Egyptians (house, food, clothing, hieroglyphs, mummification, numerals)

 

Step One Explore. Explore Interesting topics. Keep your mind open. Build background knowledge.

Preliminary Research / Flash Research

These websites have short blurbs of information about various topics relating to ancient Greece.

They are good for exploring, sparking thinking, and finding topics of interest. These sites will help you to continue to build your background knowledge.

Background knowledge is the glue that helps learning stick!

Ancient Greek City-States Includes information on the five most powerful Greek city-states. 
Ancient Greeks (BBC Primary History) Bitesized information from BBC. 

Ancient Greece Topics on the history, art and architecture, mythology, wars, geography and culture of Ancient Greece.

Ancient Greece for Kids Learn about the history, government, religion, mythology, art, philosophy, science, clothing, literature, economy, food, war, literature, environment and people of Ancient Greece.

The Ancient Greek World Explore the Ancient Greek World virtual gallery at the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.

The British Museum: Ancient Greece Experience this epic and exciting website, which explores the world of ancient Greece using hundreds of objects from the British Museum.

The Greeks This website provides an introduction to the history, culture, politics, art and warfare with a timeline, map of Ancient Greece.

Ancient Greece - National Geographic

Ancient Greece - History.com

Step One Explore. Explore Interesting topics. Keep your mind open. Build background knowledge.

Preliminary Research / Flash Research

These websites have short blurbs of information about various topics relating to ancient Rome.

They are good for exploring, sparking thinking, and finding topics of interest. These sites will help you to continue to build your background knowledge.

Background knowledge is the glue that helps learning stick!

Ancient Rome Ancient Rome and Italy from the Etruscans to the fall of Rome. 
Roman Emperors Alphabetical list of Roman emperors. Click a name to learn about that emperor. 
Rome: Republic to Empire Includes historical, civilization and cultural topics. 

Ancient Rome for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links about Ancient Rome’s daily life, schooling, people, geography and many more with a click away.

Livius.org Explore information about the Roman Empire by clicking on the blue tabs.

PBS: The Roman Empire PBS series showcasing some of the most intriguing and historically significant people, places, and events from first century Rome.

Ancient Rome - History.com

Rome - National Geographic

Resisting Slavery in Ancient Rome - BBC

The Secrets of Ancient Rome’s Buildings - Smithsonian.com  

The Gladiators of Rome - Ancient Origins

STEP 2 : IDENTIFY

Step two Identify. Pause and ponder. Decide research topic. Identify inquiry questions.

During Step 2, Identify, you will begin to create a strategy for finding information.

To begin, you will choose a topic and then identify researchable questions. You should have both open (bottom of the iceberg) and closed (top of the iceberg) questions. You will use these questions to guide your research. Add your research questions to the Questions section of your packet.

Iceberg Questions

Creating Your Search Strategy for Online Searching

Step 3 Gather : Teacher Curated Sites

 

Ancient History Encyclopedia The world's most- read history encyclopedia. Search by keywords, timelines, maps and more. 

Penn Museum Exhibitions Find the civilization you are interested under the Exhibitions tab. 

The Ancient Web Read profiles of cultures across the continents. 

Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery for Kids Search using the keywords "Ancient Civilizations" or by a specific civilization. 

Ancient Greek City-States Includes information on the five most powerful Greek city-states. 
Ancient Greeks (BBC Primary History) Bitesized information from BBC. 

Ancient Greece Topics on the history, art and architecture, mythology, wars, geography and culture of Ancient Greece.

Ancient Greece for Kids Learn about the history, government, religion, mythology, art, philosophy, science, clothing, literature, economy, food, war, literature, environment and people of Ancient Greece.

The Ancient Greek World Explore the Ancient Greek World virtual gallery at the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.

The British Museum: Ancient Greece Experience this epic and exciting website, which explores the world of ancient Greece using hundreds of objects from the British Museum.

The Greeks This website provides an introduction to the history, culture, politics, art and warfare with a timeline, map of Ancient Greece.

Ancient Greece - National Geographic

Ancient Greece - History.com

Ancient History Encyclopedia The world's most- read history encyclopedia. Search by keywords, timelines, maps and more. 

Penn Museum Exhibitions Find the civilization you are interested under the Exhibitions tab. 

The Ancient Web Read profiles of cultures across the continents. 

Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery for Kids Search using the keywords "Ancient Civilizations" or by a specific civilization. 

Ancient Rome Ancient Rome and Italy from the Etruscans to the fall of Rome. 
Roman Emperors Alphabetical list of Roman emperors. Click a name to learn about that emperor. 
Rome: Republic to Empire Includes historical, civilization and cultural topics. 

Ancient Rome for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links about Ancient Rome’s daily life, schooling, people, geography and many more with a click away.

Livius.org Explore information about the Roman Empire by clicking on the blue tabs.

PBS: The Roman Empire PBS series showcasing some of the most intriguing and historically significant people, places, and events from first century Rome.

Ancient Rome - History.com

Rome - National Geographic

Resisting Slavery in Ancient Rome - BBC

The Secrets of Ancient Rome’s Buildings - Smithsonian.com  

The Gladiators of Rome - Ancient Origins

Mr. Donn Egypt : Links to information in all aspects of ancient Egypt including daily life, religions, government, myths and more. 

DK Find Out- Ancient Egypt for Kids : Use the interactive map to navigate the site and find out information about "the most stable civilization in human history". 

Smithsonian Institute Ancient Egypt : Images of artifacts such as mummified animals, shrines, amulets, figurines, mummy masks

Ancient History Encyclopedia : The world's most- read history encyclopedia. Search by keywords, timelines, maps and more. 

Penn Museum Exhibitions : Find the civilization you are interested under the Exhibitions tab. 

The Ancient Web : Read profiles of cultures across the continents. 

Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery for Kids :  Search using the keywords "Ancient Civilizations" or by a specific civilization. 

Day Library Ancient Egypt Books : A list of the books on Ancient Egypt found in Day Library's collection. 

Ancient Egypt for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links that are about Ancient Egypt’s geography, schools, games, and many more with a click away.

Ancient Egypt for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links that are about Ancient Egypt’s geography, schools, games, and many more with a click away.

Ancient Egypt Online Learn about the important aspects of Ancient Egyptian history and culture by exploring this website.

The Ancient Egypt Site Explore the history, language and culture of Ancient Egypt in this website created by Egyptologist Jacques Kinnaer.

BBC: Ancient Egypt Explore the wonders of Ancient Egypt by looking at this helpful website provided by the BBC.

PBS: Ancient Egypt Discover all aspects of Ancient Egypt by exploring this website provided by PBS.

Ancient Egypt - History.com

Ancient Egypt - Khan Academy

Discovering Egypt

Discovering Egypt

National Geographic - Ancient Egypt (news, videos, images - very visual, lots about discovery of tombs)

Usborne Quick Links for Ancient Egypt (numerous topics and website links)
History on the Net - Ancient Egyptians (house, food, clothing, hieroglyphs, mummification, numerals)

Step 3 : GATHER

Made with Padlet

F.A. Day Middle School Library
21 Minot Pl., Newton, MA 02460 / 617-559-9139