Ancient Feast
Ms. Lightfoot's Research Tips
1. Use the Chrome browser. It allows you to split open tabs in multiple screens. This is especially helpful when taking notes while on websites/databases.
2. Start out searching the more general topics before moving on to more specific topics.
3. Use the cart of books in your classroom.
4. Put the URL of the site you are using on your notes page. This will allow you to go back and find it easily when you are citing your sources.
Project Docs- make a copy of these documents and rename them to include your last name
 |
 |
 |
Databases
Ancient History Encyclopedia The world's most- read history encyclopedia. Search by keywords, timelines, maps and more.
Penn Museum Exhibitions Find the civilization you are interested under the Exhibitions tab.
The Ancient Web Read profiles of cultures across the continents.
Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery for Kids Search using the keywords "Ancient Civilizations" or by a specific civilization.
Ancient Greek City-States Includes information on the five most powerful Greek city-states.
Ancient Greeks (BBC Primary History) Bitesized information from BBC.
Ancient Greece Topics on the history, art and architecture, mythology, wars, geography and culture of Ancient Greece.
Ancient Greece for Kids Learn about the history, government, religion, mythology, art, philosophy, science, clothing, literature, economy, food, war, literature, environment and people of Ancient Greece.
The Ancient Greek World Explore the Ancient Greek World virtual gallery at the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.
The British Museum: Ancient Greece Experience this epic and exciting website, which explores the world of ancient Greece using hundreds of objects from the British Museum.
The Greeks This website provides an introduction to the history, culture, politics, art and warfare with a timeline, map of Ancient Greece.
Ancient Egypt for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links that are about Ancient Egypt’s geography, schools, games, and many more with a click away.
Ancient Egypt Online Learn about the important aspects of Ancient Egyptian history and culture by exploring this website.
The Ancient Egypt Site Explore the history, language and culture of Ancient Egypt in this website created by Egyptologist Jacques Kinnaer.
BBC: Ancient Egypt Explore the wonders of Ancient Egypt by looking at this helpful website provided by the BBC.
The British Museum Meet the gods and goddesses! Explore daily life! See real mummies and more with just a click away!
PBS: Ancient Egypt Discover all aspects of Ancient Egypt by exploring this website provided by PBS.
PBS: The Pyramids Learn all about the Pyramids by exploring this helpful website.
Ancient Rome Ancient Rome and Italy from the Etruscans to the fall of Rome.
Roman Emperors Alphabetical list of Roman emperors. Click a name to learn about that emperor.
Rome: Republic to Empire Includes historical, civilization and cultural topics.
Ancient Rome for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links about Ancient Rome’s daily life, schooling, people, geography and many more with a click away.
Livius.org Explore information about the Roman Empire by clicking on the blue tabs.
PBS: The Roman Empire PBS series showcasing some of the most intriguing and historically significant people, places, and events from first century Rome.
Resisting Slavery in Ancient Rome - BBC
The Secrets of Ancient Rome’s Buildings - Smithsonian.com
The Gladiators of Rome - Ancient Origins
Ancient Greece - National Geographic
Ancient Mesopotamia for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links about Ancient Mesopotamia’s geography, people, daily life and many more with a click away.
The British Museum: Ancient Mesopotamia Experience this epic and exciting website, which explores the world of Ancient Mesopotamia using hundreds of objects from the British Museum.
LookLex Encyclopedia This online encyclopedia gives a wealth of information about Ancient Mesopotamia.
The Oriental Institute Learn about Ancient Mesopotamia artifacts from the Oriental Institute.
Stone Age by Ancient History Encyclopedia explains the stone age in a chronological format.
Stone Age by DK Has a wealth of information about the stone age period.
The Stone Age For Kids Various resources for learning about the stone age for kids are used, such as fun facts and videos.
Ancient History Encyclopedia : Kingdom of Kush Article on the Kush from the Ancient History Encyclopedia.
Ancient India for Kids Learn about the history and culture of Ancient India by exploring this website.
The British Museum: Ancient India Experience this epic and exciting website, which explores the world of Ancient India using hundreds of objects from the British Museum.
Cultural India Discover the art, geography, government, religion, and other facts about Ancient India by clicking on the red tabs on the left.
The Indus Civilization This website has 1,173 illustrated pages by leading scholars around the world of the Ancient Indus Civilization.
Ancient China for Kids This helpful website provides numerous links about the people, places, daily life, culture of Ancient China.
Ancient China for Kids by Ducksters Organized with many links by overview, culture, dynasties and people.
The British Museum Experience this epic and exciting website, which explores the world of Ancient China using hundreds of objects from the British Museum.
Chinese Dynasties and Contributions Chart This chart explains the contributions that each Dynasty made to the world.
|
F.A. Day Middle School Library |